Committee minutes


The Governing Body of Danegrove meets once every term for a full governing body meeting . This meeting is usually in the second half of each term. The full governing body meetings are minuted by a clerk, Mrs Alison Moretti.


Full governing body meetings always comprise some governor training. This training is done by members of school staff  or by advisors invited in because they have a specialism. Examples of previous training have been – Safeguarding, school data, the role of the governing body, SEN, the Learning Skills etc


The governors also have three sub committees which meet once a term usually in the first half of each term. Minutes of these meetings are circulated to all governors and items from the committees are taken to the full governing body for further discussion or clarification. Each governor is usually a member of two sub committees, although any governor can attend any sub committee. Each committee has its own terms of reference which are reviewed annually and can be read below.


  • Welfare, Discipline and Curriculum Committee


This committee looks at issues such as staffing arrangements, Special Educational Needs, Safeguarding, Behaviour, subject audits, homework, the curriculum, and assessment date etc.  Peggy Salmon is the chair of this committee.


The terms of reference for this committee are here.


  • Personnel Committee


The Personnel Committee are responsible for recruitment, safer recruitment, pay and conditions, appraisals, heads appraisal.  Janet Mead is the Chair of this committee.  


The terms of reference for this committee are here. 


  • Resources Committee


The Resources committee looks at the school budget including setting budgets, forecasts, best value, extended services, other school accounts, audits etc.  Grant Whitaker the Schools Bursar also attends these meetings. 

John Ireton in the Chair of this committee. 


The terms of reference for this committee are here. 


In addition to these committees


  • Janet Mead is our Safeguarding governor

  • Linda Gowling is our governor for trips and visits

  • Janet Mead is our governor for Special Educational Needs

  • Linda Gowling is our Pupil Premium governor